UPDATED Suggestions for Healing Akathisia


I want to share a few things that I believe may be very helpful for those working their way through Akathisia. I’m not sure how quickly or thoroughly healing can happen if one continues to take the offending meds. I’m also not sure how quickly or thoroughly healing can happen if one doesn’t first approach cleaning up their diet and environmental toxins, this includes negative or unsupportive people. I believe a peaceful environment with as much loving support is extremely important.

I also believe cutting sugar and caffeine and processed foods, MSG, fake sugars is also very important. I believe a GOOD probiotic is of ULTIMATE IMPORTANCE. And I believe soothing and tapping into your soul is very important. I believe working with your subconscious to facilitate a more speedy recovery can be very effective. The best I’ve found are VSL3 and Custom Probiotics brands.

I’m not sure which supplements and which vitamins are helpful honestly. I know B6 helped me, but when I read about the GABA/Glutamate balance system, maybe it’s not the best bet. I’m really not sure, and it may depend on a per case basis. You might want to look into that GABA/Glutamate system, or if you can’t sit still, have someone do it for you. I wish I had time to research, but I don’t have the time to devote to do proper research right now, but I want you to have the info anyway. So there’s that.

I know if you have JUST taken the offending med and you only had one, or a few doses, then high doses of vitamin C may be very helpful for detoxing that med out of your body. Long term high Vit C can cause anxiety, does for some, not at all for others. So I can only say for sure that it’s a really good option for short term detoxing and will be most effective if you hadn’t taken the offending med for an extended period of time.

Speaking of detox, I HAVE TO mention infrared. I have had AMAZING results from this infrared mat – http://lifematspro.com/product/small-lifemats-pro-amethyst-mat/ . I could go on and on about the health benefits I’ve experienced from regularly using this product for just a few months, but it doesn’t pertain specifically to Akathisia so I won’t bore you with the details. Suffice to say, I can absolutely 100% recommend this for detoxing the body. If there’s any chance that accumulated meds are one of the reasons Akathisia lasts so long for some people, then this mat is an absolute MUST for a speedy and thorough recovery! This company sells these mats for 1/4 of what they cost elsewhere, so please do take advantage of their pricing while it lasts. This is one product I would LOVE TO GET FEEDBACK on once you try it. I really do believe this along with my other few strong recommendations on this post could turn things around for you very quickly.

Balancing the minerals in the body is KEY too. I believe Magnesium is HUGELY IMPORTANT for most people, especially those who suffer anxiety and certainly anyone dealing with Akathisia. The one I have found most effective is the plain CALM powder. I’d suggest just taking like a 1/4 tsp every few days in warm water and do that for a week or two and see how you feel. If you are feeling improvement bump it up a bit. But the full teaspoon dosage can be a lot for someone who has never supplemented with Mag before so be sure to work your way up. And I don’t recommend taking anything every single day, that’s just my belief. So skip days here and there and even weeks here and there if you aren’t feeling the effectiveness as you once were. Then start up again when you are craving it. Use your intuition the best you can with all supplementation – Your body knows.

*UPDATE FOR MAGNESIUM – Due to a reader’s experience I want to highly recommend you try transdermal magnesium instead of oral, or maybe even along with it. The brand I have been using for years is called Ancient Minerals and it comes in gel, spray and lotion. I found the spray and cream aren’t as effective as the gel, but to each his own. Either way, I know it’s effective for many health issues, as well as keeping the body/mind balanced and definitely a must try for anyone suffering akathisia.

I’m honestly not sure why I didn’t think to recommend transdermal, as my experience with it has been very positive. The only issue is, when you are suffering akathisia you are already uncomfortable and dermal magnesium can cause prickly, burning sensations while you’re marinating in it. For this reason, I generally only apply it to my lower arms and lower legs and feet. I allow it to sit for up to an hour then wash it off. I know my uncle slaps it on all over and goes to bed with it, never rinses. Again, depends on how it affects you, you’ll figure out what works best. They say the burning/tingling is most profound when your body needs mag the most. Interesting.

Another way to balance minerals is by using something called Cell Food. Their ingredients are a mystery. I’ve spent lots of time researching the product, because it produces GREAT RESULTS for me whenever I’m feeling physically off or depleted, but I still don’t know exactly what it is other than a mixture of trace minerals. Also, when I use this regularly I feel much better on a whole than when I forget to use it. I would definitely recommend giving this a try and would love to hear your feedback of how it worked for you.

EFT/Tapping may be the MOST EFFECTIVE treatment for Akathisia after basic detoxing of course. This was the most effective proactive work I did toward really overcoming the residual anxiety I had after coming down from Akathisia. That residual anxiety lasted a year or so for me, but once I started doing tapping, I healed pretty rapidly. I have since learned that it calms the CNS and that is ultimately EXACTLY WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING TO DO. By far the best practitioner with the best method I have ever experienced is the process created by David Feinstein – http://www.innersource.net/ep/promise-of-ep.html . I am in no way affiliated with these people or their company, I just know from experience his method is powerful and healing. David is Donna Eden’s husband, she is a very knowledgeable energy worker and he works in the realm of energy psychology, which is tapping. I think you can find some of their stuff on YouTube, but honestly, I haven’t looked in a while. I’d highly suggest getting his book/DVD bundle, because the DVD takes you through the process so you can learn to memorize how to do it easily.

Also, there’s a couple audio books I think worthy of your time. They’re not magic, but helpful, inspiring and very positive. There are a couple others, but I simply don’t have access to my stuff since I’m in the process of moving and having to stay somewhere temporarily without all my beloved books. I will get back to you with those titles as soon as possible.

The ones I can very confidently recommend for now are:

The Power of Your Subconscious Mind by Joseph Murphy. This was written quite a long time ago, so it’s a bit dated in the way he speaks of things, but the message is powerful and reassuring. It shows us just how powerful we are when we work with our minds, rather than letting it work against us. Miracles can happen. Spontaneous healing can happen. It’s just a concept worth knowing.

Instant Healing by Serge Kahili King. He also explains how powerful the mind is in healing the body. Very positive dude. Interesting exercises. Worth a listen. I’ve listened to my copy countless times for a reason.

I also believe Patti Conklin is a very powerful and intelligent figure in the world of healing. I’ve had her Color Works CD for many years and it was one of the things that really helped me along on my way toward healing http://patticonklin.com/ . When I just went to grab the link for you, I saw she has a CD called Tone Works which sounds very interesting and may be worth looking into as well.

There is a CD called Awakening the Body by Will Johnson. I honestly don’t know anything about this guy, but the CD is great. I know it sounds counter-intuitive to want to awaken the body when you’re suffering Akathisia, but I really do think once you try this you’ll understand. It’s about RELEASING pent up energies, thoughts, traumas. This is definitely worth a try.

There are processes called EMDR and also Brainspotting which I know from personal experience are very effective as well. Both of these modalities really need to be done by a practitioner, so this isn’t really something for you to try on your own. They’re also geared more toward past psychological/emotional trauma and may be most helpful once you’re further along the healing process. But they’re both about releasing, and this is really what your body and mind need to do – DETOX – RELEASE – SOOTHE – HEAL – REBUILD

There is a process called the Sedona Method that is very well known and powerful for anxiety. Though the anxiety associated with Akathisia is 1000x scarier than regular anxiety and panic, I think this can definitely help even so. The basic technique is shown here – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GzSkUhRLbg . But it goes further into visualizing opening up your chest or stomach area and letting all that intense emotion pour out. That part of the process was by far one of the most valuable things I did to completely overcome the anxiety from Akathisia. The process is basic and simple but there is more to it than just what you’ll see here in this video. If it resonates for you at all, it’s worth looking further in to.

There’s another process called Ho’Oponopono. I don’t know a lot about it but I do know it’s a REALLY SOOTHING process . The process is simple and I’m absolutely sure there’s plenty of people demonstrating it on You Tube. Check it out!

Lastly, there’s someone named Ki Kaz, who has videos on You Tube which I partake in whenever I need a healing boost. I have no idea how/why they work, but I always feel better afterward. For some, the sounds may be annoying, for some it will probably be soothing, some might not notice anything either way. In my experience, his basic healing and room clearing ones are the most powerful of his collection. I don’t generally watch the videos, but just listen to the audio. Here’s a link to one of his audios – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSpUhKN8IRk&index=16&list=PLoznZWG3YZquWLbkVDtGlGlUX-XPjH1W2

I know some of his stuff uses binaural beats, some I think are done in other ways, but again, I don’t understand the science behind his stuff, but I think you can learn more on his website. Just another tool you may want to explore.

Again, I have no affiliation whatsoever to any of these folks or their companies. These are simply things I have found through the years to be the best of the best in “alternative” healing.

I am not a doctor, not a health practitioner in any way. I am simply someone who has been there and these are things I believe in. Some will probably be wonderful for you and some may not resonate for you at all, pick and choose what feels best TO YOU!

Godspeed in your recovery journey! You WILL recover. XO

10 thoughts on “UPDATED Suggestions for Healing Akathisia

  1. I have tried Himalayan salts which has a lot more minerals whereas regular salt has just sodium. I also take a supplement called Supra Mega Minerals. I have read that glutamate is the excitatory neurotransmitter that needs to be lessened in akathisia. the supplements to help with this are cur cumin, grape seed oil, GABA, 5HTP. I have tried taking them 1 at a time and end up with severe muscle cramps and insomnia. The mineral supplements stop the cramps. Has anyone tried any of these supplements and had any luck? It’s frustrating to read so much about how these supplements help with brain chemistry and it only makes mine worse.

    1. Hi Marie,

      I’ve heard of GABA and 5-HTP causing anxiety and akathisia like symptoms for people before. So not sure I’d recommend messing with those. The other stuff you mentioned shouldn’t cause issues so far as I know. I’ve never heard of Supra Mega Minerals.. curious to read about that.

      Thank you for sharing. Maybe just stick with the minerals and curcumin, grape seed for now and see how you level out?

      All my best,
      Angie

    2. Thanks Angie,

      The curcumin, grape seed extract, glutathione all cause severe cramping and insomnia. I am starting to wake at 4 am and take 10 mg valium to get 2 hours sleep then take another 10 mg for another 2 hours sleep. At first the GABA, 5HTP started helping but I think I was taking it 2x/day so it backfired. I really need to take only 1 a day or every other day. I’m just wondering if anyone else is experimenting with a variety of supplements that are supposed to correct brain chemistry.

  2. I’ve found that a pinch or two of Himalayan salt in a glass of water several times a day can reduce my akathisia symptoms. I have also utilized TRE’s, or Trauma Release Exercises before bed to help me get to sleep if the symptoms are bothering me.

    1. Zach,

      Thank you so much for sharing some tips that work for you! 😀
      Glad to hear you’re finding stuff that helps.

      All my best,
      Angie

    2. I think akathisia might have something to do with histamine, although there’s probably a lot more to it than just that. I’m hardly an expert on the human body, but it does seem that eating a low-histamine diet helps me (and I’ve heard the same from other sufferers). Natural salt is a natural anti-histamine, which may explain the good it seems to do for me. I should add, however, that taking over-the-counter antihistamines is probably a bad idea for treating this condition since, in my case, I happen to have suffered a particularly nasty rebound effect from taking Benadryl for sleep – it ended up making my akathisia even worse.

      Just a few thoughts. I’m really grateful for your site, Angie.

    3. Zach,

      Thank you for this input. Interestingly, about a year after healing I started on a detox program for overall health and was doing salt water each morning. I can say my mental state vastly improved during this time and onward from there. Now I have to wonder if this had something to do with finalizing getting things back into balance. I had never considered sea salt to have an impact on one’s mental state, but maybe so.

      It will be interesting to hear from anyone dealing with active akathisia symptoms who may try this. I would say though, that it should be researched first, as far as how to go about using salt water. I found the recommended amounts to start with were too high for me, I did very little but noticed quite a good detox with just that pinch.

      Thank you for sharing Zach!

      All my best,
      Angie

    1. Kim,

      The whole top half is just the navigation selections. Are you having trouble viewing the bottom or scrolling the contents on the bottom portion? Is anyone else having issues viewing the site?

      Thank you,
      Angie

  3. I have found some info on balancing GABA/glutamate at holistichelp.net. I’ve had akathisia for 2.5 years and have tried going to a nutritionist that helped a little at first but everything he gave me later on just gave me insomnia since he told me to take stuff 2x per day to start. Now I’m going on my own again. I have read from holistic help about the need to take supplements very slowly. Take a little and see how it affects you. Now I’m trying curcumin once every other day. I have read that it lowers glutamate which is the main excitatory neurotransmitter. I have also found a RLS blog that gives helpful supplements. I think everyone is so different that it takes a lot of experimentation and patience.
    My worst problem with this is the debilitating depression I’ve had with this. If i get up to try and be active, the agitation gets too bad and I just want to lie down and watch TV and calm down. I’m trying walking now but have to get muscles in my butt on ice as they feel like they are in a vice grip when I’m active.
    Would you believe my movement disorders Dr. tells me akathisia doesn’t affect sleep and I must have a sleep disorder!! My goal is to get off the lorazepam I.5 mg and Remeron 45 mg that I take to sleep so I can quit the AMA system,

Leave a Reply

